Does Walmart have a "honeymoon period" like Amazon?

Hi,

I’m quite new to Walmart.com. Amazon has a honeymoon period that they would promote a new product for about one month. I wonder does Walmart has this honeymoon period feature? If so, for how long? About one month like Amazon? Please advise. Thanks.

I believe the honeymoon is over. I believe the only way you are getting Amazon traction is paying for ads at this point. Or having a very unique product with no competition.

That being said, I am not sure if Walmart implements such a strategy.

Nope, they definitely do not…

PPC is pretty cheap on Walmart. The problem is the min budget per campaign per day of $100.

You gotta watch it closely because if you convert low, you’ll be out a bunch of cash and now Walmart is limiting how much you can spend on advertising in total based on sales.

See my thread on this issue:

2 Likes

Yes, this stopped us in our tracks when we onboarded a few years ago. No (soup) ads for us! $3,100 a month minimum, $37,000 a year. Err, no.

For us they had another interesting feature.

In the first month, we had an order for a product we sell on Amazon. It has over 350 ratings and is at 4.8 stars. We have thousands of seller ratings and are at 100% in the last year (actually three years or so) not bad for a little guy.

Then someone, one person. Leaves a 1 star seller rating and 1 star product rating on Walmart.

Game over. We have has a few sales, but with our stellar record, we are on a dead end road with Walmart.

To bad, our brands actually fit the demographic of the Walmart buyer quite well.

I still can’t believe Walmart does this.

It really constrains what you can do on that marketplace in terms of simultaneous campaign testing.

I’m just glad we have someone who’s familiar with Walmart’s BS in this area handling this for us.

They would probably make a lot more $ if they loosened that restriction.