Shipping to only one state?

I am looking to sign up to be an authorized dealer for a company that will only dropship to the dealers state. Meaning, since I am in California I can only ship to California. I don’t mind that to much, but I am contacting them to see if there is wiggle room. My question is - on Etsy, Walmart, and eBay is there a way to show that I can only ship to CA and crate a shipping profile that reflects that?

Here is their policy: "xxxx will only drop ship products within the state of where the dealer is located. This enables the consumer to obtain local service of the products. "

Walmart does not have the ability to restrict sales to or from certain states.
My Ebay experience is more limited, but I am not aware of such an option on Ebay either.
I have no Etsy experience and no idea if this is possible there.

2 Likes

Is the new partner company only drop ship, or could you keep stock for everywhere else?

Only dropship

1 Like

So not necessarily the answer you are looking for, but an option (maybe).

Not sure how many items they sell, but you could “drop ship” to a 3rd party logistics warehouse and then ship from there. I hate how inefficient that is, but just thinking outside the box.

At that point, what about an LOA? … And would there be an invoice to back up proper sourcing?

3 Likes

Etsy is a non starter based on what you describe, regardless of the location restrictions (if you want to play by the rules at least).

2 Likes

My biggest question is how is this headache worth your time?

If they offer to drop ship for you, it means two things:

1. They offer to drop ship for many, many others
  2. They are making money off you

Is the small sliver of profit worth it?

1 Like

Not necessarily.