VAT Refund on Sellers Fees for UK seller

I requested a refund of VAT on sellers fees in February 2023, after ping pong exchanges where they demanded lots of documents, all of which has been sent. I still haven’t had a refund. I wrote to managing director 4 days ago, but they just pasted the email back into the case ID.

What should I do if I don’t get any answer or resolution in the next 2 weeks? Send letter before court action to HQ? And if that doesn’t work, make a small claims via the courts?

This was my initial email:
I am a UK resident operating as a sole trader, selling in the UK
marketplace. Our business name is XXXXX and we are a VAT registered
business. I have attached a copy of our UTR number and here is our VAT
number: XXXXXX . Our business was incorrectly charged VAT on Amazon
selling fees, since we opened our Seller Central account on: 23 April 2020
up to the date we became VAT registered: 1 September 2020. I would
therefore like to request a full refund for VAT paid on all Amazon selling
fees, charged to our Seller Central account between 1 April 2020 to 30
September 2020. * Kind Regards

2 Likes

Welcome.

Just for my own knowledge, isn’t Amazon required to collect VAT if you are not registered and/or did not provide your VAT number to Amazon? If you did not have a VAT number prior to 9/1/20 why would you be eligible for a refund for VAT collected prior to that date?

ETA: Why did you wait over 2 years to request the refund?

2 Likes

Also, if this was collected in 2020 wouldn’t it have been paid to the UK gov’t already?

2 Likes

When I first opened a sellers account, and saw that VAT was collected on sellers fees, I asked Amazon why they were collecting VAT since they were a EU company and I was VAT exempt. But got a generic answer, so I just left it. I wasn’t aware we could claim back the VAT collected after it had been collected. Someone posted in the Sellers forum in UK advising people to reclaim. You can reclaim after 4 years.