Educational background?

BA in English, minored in History. This was back before there was such a thing as Baristas!!.

If one earned a degree, which was respected then, meant one could learn!! Worked in an array of fields, none linked to teaching-where most English majors ended in the old days.

Though I oft-times wish I’d used my college time more wisely-why. oh. why didn’t I major in business- my reading propensities have given a lotta satisfaction in my private life.

8 Likes

My background is similar. BA in Humanities, with English and History as my chosen fields. I took one business course to strengthen my resume but knew I needed more. Since Economics I was a prerequisite for most business courses, I took that. It was the hardest course of my college career. I got an A but I really had to work for it.

I worked in various fields–banking, hospital, and for the last 26 years of my employment, I worked in a science department that was focused on field research.

Yes, a liberal arts degree allows one to do many things and wear many hats.

9 Likes

Science degrees and poor timing allow for this as well! Such as me, finishing a Computer Science degree in 2001 as the tech bubble burst…

At least I tell myself I fared better than a bunch of my buddies who interned and then worked at Lehman Bros and Bear Stearns with their Engineering degrees…

6 Likes

BS in Computer Science back in the day when we were excited that computer memory had gotten down to $1/mb (not GIG, but megabyte). Built a new machine with 128 mb of RAM. It was so fast :).

5 Likes

I dropped out of school after barely finishing 8th grade :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

Then I didn’t do anything more or better with my life until my mid 30’s, when I discovered money could be made at Yahoo auctions! Got my GED for the heck of it in my early 40’s.