Is it a bad/good idea for one Amazon account to run 2 entirely different brands?

Hi,
I’ve been selling FBA since late 2016 in my niche. Frankly my niche is small and it’s hard to grow further. So I’m interested in getting into another niche that is entirely different from the one that I’ve been selling. So I need to create a new brand and logo that fits the new niche. I would prefer to use the same Amazon account and US LLC to operate the new brand. Is that a bad/good idea? Would the customers able to see that I’m running two brands in different niche?

Here are the pros and cons that I could think of:
Pros

• Simplicity of operation from running only 1 account
  • Amazon doesn’t like people running multiple account. Hence less chance of having problems with Amazon

Cons

• Problems (e.g. account suspension) from one brand could affect another brand because they’re under the same Amazon account.
  • A little more complex accounting work because Amazon might combine numbers of two brands (I’m not sure about this).

What do you guys think? Would you start a new brand under your existing Amazon account or you would separate it? Please share your thoughts. Thanks.

3 Likes

As someone that has 2 accounts, I would say stick to 1 absolutely.

I have 2 accounts because I own 2 different businesses, but in the same category. There are different people involved in these businesses, with different bank accounts, addresses, CC’s, phone #'s, emails, EINs, etc.

One of my accounts sells 4 different brands. It’s fine, and that’s the way it should be done.

What you are talking about here is not a legitimate reason to open a second account and I don’t think Amazon will even let you unless you totally separate the businesses on the outside.

IMO, having 2 accounts is actually far more dangerous. If one does get suspended, they are both going down under the related accounts policy. Now you would have 2 accounts to get reactivated instead of 1.